Change font-size

To change the font-size please follow the instructions of your browser. The keyboard shortcuts are:


[Ctrl] - [+] Enlarge font
[Ctrl] - [-] Decrease font
[Ctrl] - [0] Reset font-size



Close
MenüService
Suche
  • Home
  • Schriftgröße

40 years of the UNESCO MAB Programme

In 1971, the International Co-ordinating Council (ICC) of the UNESCO „Man and the Biosphere“-Programme convened for the first time. To celebrate the 40th anniversary, UNESCO, the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety, the German Federal Agency for Nature Conservation and the German Commission for UNESCO organized a high-level international conference, titled “For life, for the future. Biosphere reserves and climate change”. The conference took place in Dresden, Germany in June 2011.

Around 300 representatives from politics and the sciences as well as practitioners from biosphere reserves attended the conference. Among the participants were UNESCO Director-General Irina Bokova, Prime Minister of the Free State of Saxony Stanislaw Tillich, several ministers, ambassadors and representatives of altogether 74 states. As the final document of the conference, the participants adopted the “Dresden Declaration”, which emphasizes the potential biosphere reserves have in identifying effective measures against climate change. The German Commission for UNESCO has published the Dresden Declaration together with the conference proceedings in a brochure.

Subsequent to the international conference, the MAB ICC convened in Dresden for its 23rd session. It was the first time that an ICC session took place in Germany. During the session, an excursion was organized for all delegates to the German biosphere reserve Heath and Pond Landscape of Upper Lusatia.

During its session in Dresden, the MAB ICC decided to earmark 3 November as the “MAB and Biosphere Reserve Day”. On 3 November 2011, this day was first celebrated with worldwide events.

In the context of the conference, the BfN, UNESCO-MAB, DUK and AfriMAB organized a workshop for managers of African biosphere reserves. The workshop ended with an excursion to the German biosphere reserve Rhön and the adoption of a communiqué by the participants.

As part of the 40th anniversary of the MAB Programme, the German Commission for UNESCO has produced a short film which portrays the work of German biosphere reserves. An exhibition and two further brochures introduce practitioners as well as the general public to specific aspects of the MAB Programme: The exhibition presents, in four languages, a selection of 28 case studies from around the world which show what biosphere reserves contribute to climate protection and adaptation to climate change. The exhibition has been shown in Dresden as well as at the Bonn Office of the German Federal Ministry for the Environment. Currently, it can be viewed at the Liason Office of the Free State of Saxony in Brussels. All case studies are moreover summarized in a brochure. Another brochure presents the cooperation between UNESCO, the German Commission for UNESCO and Danone Waters Germany as an example of a successful cooperation with the private sector in biosphere reserves.

The entire event was organized in a carbon-neutral fashion. However, flights are unavoidable for a conference with participants from all parts of the world. Therefore, the organizers invested 4,600 Euros to offset emissions of 200,000 kg CO2 in Gold Standard-certified carbon offset projects by the organization “atmosfair”. For example, parts of the sum were invested in a project in India supported by the UNFCCC. The project generates electricity from crop residues.

More Information:

Conference Proceedings including the Dresden Declaration (brochure, English)

Biosphere Reserves and Climate Change. A Collection of Good Practice Case Studies (brochure, English)

Water – A Key Element in UNESCO Biosphere Reserves. Experiences from a Collaboration of Danone Waters Germany and UNESCO (brochure, English)

Suche

Newsletter

Abonnieren Sie unsere verschiedenen Newsletter. mehr...

Schriftgröße ändern

Zum Ändern der Schriftgröße verwenden Sie bitte die Funktionalität Ihres Browsers. Die Tastatur-Kurzbefehle lauten folgendermaßen:


[Strg]-[+] Schrift vergrößern
[Strg]-[-] Schrift verkleinern
[Strg]-[0] Schriftgröße Zurücksetzen



schließen
MenüService
Suche
  • Home
  • Schriftgröße

40-jähriges Jubiläum des MAB-Programms

Im Jahr 1971 tagte der Internationale Koordinierungsrat (ICC) des UNESCO-Programms "Der Mensch und die Biosphäre" zum ersten Mal. Aus Anlass dieses Jubiläums organisierten UNESCO, BMU (seit 2014: BMUB), BfN und DUK im Juni 2011 in Dresden eine hochrangige internationale Fachkonferenz unter dem Titel "Für das Leben, für die Zukunft. Biosphärenreservate und Klimawandel".

Rund 300 Vertreter aus Politik, Wissenschaft und Praxis nahmen an der Konferenz teil. Unter den Teilnehmern waren UNESCO-Generaldirektorin Bokova, der sächsische Ministerpräsident Stanislaw Tillich, mehrere Minister, Botschafter und Vertreter von insgesamt 74 Staaten. Als zentrales Ergebnisdokument verabschiedeten die Teilnehmer die "Dresdner Erklärung", welche die Leistungsfähigkeit von Biosphärenreservaten für die Identifikation wirksamer Maßnahmen gegen den Klimawandel betont. Die DUK hat die Dresdner Erklärung und eine Zusammenfassung der Konferenz in einer Broschüre vorgelegt.

Im Anschluss an die Konferenz fand, ebenfalls in Dresden, bis zum 1. Juli die 23. Sitzung des Internationalen Koordinierungsrats des MAB-Programms (ICC) statt. Der ICC tagte zum ersten Mal in Deutschland. In diesem Rahmen fand für alle Delegierte eine Exkursion ins Biosphärenreservat Oberlausitzer Heide- und Teichlandschaft statt.

Auf seiner Sitzung in Dresden fasst der ICC zudem den Beschluss, einen Internationalen Tag der UNESCO-Biosphärenreservate ins Leben zu rufen. Am 3. November 2011 wurde dieser mit weltweiten Aktivitäten erstmals begangen.

Parallel zu Konferenz und ICC-Sitzung organisierten BfN, UNESCO-MAB, AfriMAB und die DUK einen Workshop für Manager von Biosphärenreservaten in Afrika. Der Workshop endete mit einer mehrtägigen Exkursion ins Biosphärenreservat Rhön und einem von den Teilnehmern beschlossenen Kommuniqué.

Im Rahmen des 40. MAB-Jubiläums hat die DUK einen deutschsprachigen Kurzfilm über die Biosphärenreservate produzieren lassen. Eine Ausstellung und zwei weitere Broschüren bringen Fachpublikum und Öffentlichkeit spezifische Aspekte des Themas näher: Die viersprachige Ausstellung präsentiert eine Auswahl von 28 Fallstudien aus aller Welt, die zeigen, was Biosphärenreservate im Bereich Klimaschutz und Anpassung an den Klimawandel leisten.  Sie wurde in Dresden sowie im BMU in Bonn gezeigt und ist derzeit noch bis April 2012 im Verbindungsbüro des Freistaates Sachsen in Brüssel zu sehen. Alle Fallstudien sind auch in einer Broschüre zusammengefasst. Eine weitere Broschüre stellt einem internationalen Publikum die Kooperation von UNESCO und DUK mit dem Unternehmen Danone Waters Deutschland vor.

Die gesamte Veranstaltung wurde CO2-neutral organisiert. Da für eine Konferenz mit Teilnehmern aus aller Welt Flüge unvermeidlich sind, investierten die Organisatoren 4.600 Euro zum Ausgleich von 200.000 kg CO2 in "Gold-Standard"-zertifizierte Projekte der Organisation "atmosfair". Das Geld wurde zum Beispiel in ein UNFCCC-gefördertes Projekt in Indien investiert, in dessen Rahmen mit Getreideabfällen Energie erzeugt wird.

Weitere Informationen:

Ergebnisse der Fachkonferenz „Für das Leben, für die Zukunft“ und Dresdner Erklärung (Broschüre, englisch)

Gute Praxis zum Thema Klimawandel in Biosphärenreservaten (Broschüre, englisch)

"Water – A Key Element in UNESCO Biosphere Reserves" - Kooperation von UNESCO und DUK mit Danone Waters Deutschland (Broschüre, englisch)

Suche

Newsletter

Abonnieren Sie unsere verschiedenen Newsletter. mehr...